Author Archives



Chico Sonido Releases Sad Girl Mixtape


It looks like living in LA has finally gotten the best of Chico Sonido. The DJ/Producer (nee Raul Espinosa) from Mexico recently released a new mixtape of summertime oldies like the ones legendary disc jockey Art Laboe would play on his radio show.

The mixtape includes 18 beats that have been recontextualized/chopped up with samples of classic R&B, Soul, and Oldies commonly found on lowrider music compilations. It’s “barrio music for gangsters of love,” he explains, “firme soul music for sad cholas and vatos locos.”

It’s a bit of a departure from his days working alongside Toy Selectah and starting a tribal musical revolution but just as great.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]


Frikstailers Remain Friky On New Release, Crop Circles


Like a UFO out of the night sky, DJ/production duo Frikstailers have reappeared with their fourth release, the appropriately titled Crop Circles. The album features six songs that see Buenos Aires duo (currently in D.F.) Lisandro Sona and Rafael Caivano leap further into outer space freakiness.

The album begins with “Intro Orbital,” which beams the listeners aboard the duo’s friky ship for a dance party that begins with “Crop Circles,” filled with retro-futuristic synths and Andean/tribal percussion. It’s followed by the swirling synths and syncopated beats of “Omeprazol” and “Kepler” where the Amazon of South America meets the imagination of Arthur C. Clarke before ending with the primal techno sounds of “Venus” and “Vakum.”

Grab a free copy via their labels website, ZZK Records.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Chancha Via Circuito

Chancha Via Circuito Returns With Coplita

Chancha Via Circuito
It’s been four years since Argentine producer Pedro Canale, known to the world as Chancha Via Circuito, wowed every magazine and blog on Earth with Rio Arriba. Following popular sets at the 2014 editions of the Coachella Valley Music Festival and Vive Latino, Chancha marks his return with the release of “Coplita.”

“Coplita” is the first single off his upcoming third album, Amansara, due out in September. The song, which features vocalist Miriam Garcia, is similar to the winning formula he used on his previous album. Minimal electronic beats sway alongside a number of traditional, folkloric instruments from South America matched in intensity by Garcia’s hypnotic vocals.


Palenke Soultribe – “Oh Mama”


Electro-cumbia outfit Palenke Soultribe have released a new video that takes the duo back to their South American roots. “Oh Mama” is the third single off their album Mar and was shot in the cities of Bogota and Barranquilla in Colombia, the band’s hometown plus some added footage shot in Los Angeles.

The highlight of the video, besides the amazing beats and samples, is the footage of the Carnaval of Barranquilla. The carnival is considered one of the most colorful in the world and is the second largest carnival in the world, second only to the carnival in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The song is an infectious, electro-fied rework of the classic song of the same name by Son Palenque and features members of Son Palenque as well.
[youtube url=”” width=”560″ height=”315″]


Sounds From Uruguay Returns To SXSW


For the second year in a row, a half-dozen of the best artists from Uruguay will land in Austin, Texas to celebrate their music with thousands of music lovers at the annual SXSW Festival.

Once again, ERM:M (Elena Rodrigo Marketing & Media) will bring together a number of Uruguayan musicians from a variety of genres under one roof. Attendees can look forward to the mestizo Rock sounds of Cuatro Pesos De Propina, Blues artist Señor Faraón, and the Punk music of Hablan Por La Espalda.

There will also be music by Rossana Taddei, Daniel Drexler, and Ana Prada for those wanting something more on the softer side.

Sounds From Uruguay will be held March 12th at The Speakeasy, the second day of the music portion of the festival.


Los Rakas Set For Debut On Universal Latin With Double-Album


Years of hard work have paid off for Raka Dun and Raka Rich, a.k.a. Los Rakas. The Panamanian duo from Oakland, CA recently signed with major label Universal Latin and will release their debut album with the label in April.

El Negrito Dun Dun & Ricardo won’t be any run-of-the-mill Hip-Hop album though. Details remain scarce at the moment but the label has mentioned that the duo’s first album will actually be a double-disc album, something of a rarity these days.

Los Rakas will perform a few shows at the SXSW Festival in Austin.

The duo has much more planned for the coming weeks but fans can get a taste with “Hot,” their first single off the album. The song appeared last year on Electronic Arts’s popular sports video game FIFA14.

[youtube url=”” width=”560″ height=”315″]



Neon Desert Festival Now A Two Day Party


Splendid Sun Productions is bringing its annual Neon Desert Festival in El Paso back in a big way. The festival will expand to two days beginning this year. Music lovers will now be able to extend their stay to the heart of the border town to all of Memorial Day weekend.

Splendid Sun Productions launched Neon Desert in 2011 as a way of not only promoting alternative and Latin alternative music that many of the city’s residents crave but also as a way of celebrating El Paso’s (and its sister city of Juarez across the border) local music and arts scenes.

Artists such as Bosnian Rainbows, Carla Morrison, La Vida Boheme, Moby, MSTRKRFT, Mexican Institute Of Sound, Zechs Marquise, Molotov, Los Bunkers, Chico Mann, Los Amigos Invisibles, Kinky, and many more have performed at the festival thus far despite the intense Texan heat. Artists for this year’s lineup will be announced later this month.

The festival will also make a temporary move from its usual home. The festival usually sits between San Jacinto Plaza and Cleveland Square Park in historic downtown. Unfortunately, the Plaza is undergoing renovations and the entirety of the festival will be held around Cleveland Square Park.

[youtube url=”″ width=”560″ height=”315″]

rodrigo y gabriela new album

Rodrigo Y Gabriela Announce New Studio Album: 9 Dead Alive

rodrigo y gabriela new album

There’s great news for fans of “flamenco metal” acoustic guitar duo Rodrigo Y Gabriela as their label, ATO Records, announced last week the upcoming release of their new album 9 Dead Alive.

The album, scheduled for release on April 29th, is the first original work from the duo since 2009’s 11:11. They were set back thanks to their work on the soundtracks for Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Shores and Puss In Boots. They also released Area 52, in which they re-recorded a number of their favorite songs with a Cuban orchestra.

9 Dead Alive is a concept album were each song serves as a celebration of a long-deceased individual whose actions still have repercussions today. The tracklist and its influence is below.

1.        The Soundmaker (inspired by Antonio de Torres Jurado: 1817 – 1892)

2.        Torito (inspired by animals and nature)

3.        Sunday Neurosis (inspired by Viktor Frankl: 1905 – 1997)

4.        Misty Moses (inspired by Harriet Tubman: 1820 – 1913)

5.        Somnium (inspired by Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz: 1651 – 1695)

6.        Fram (inspired by Fridtjof Nansen: 1861 – 1930)

7.        Megalopolis (inspired by Gabriela Mistral: 1889 – 1957)

8.        The Russian Messenger (inspired by Fyodor Dostoyevsky: 1821 – 1881)

9.        La Salle Des Pas Perdus (inspired by Eleanor of Acquitane: 1122 – 1204)

[youtube url=”” width=”560″ height=”315″]